SELF-CARE

You Must Put Yourself First. Here’s Why

Many fall short of doing this

Deante L. Young
2 min readMar 14, 2021

--

Self care.
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

My grandmother was nearly obsessive about helping other people and putting herself last. My mom continues that legacy of constant giving and selflessness, which are incredible attributes for anyone to possess, except for one important thing.

When it came to self-care, they seemed to have no idea how to execute that. Unfortunately, lots of people share the same quality which is great for others but it completely sucks for that person.

An Eye-Opening Text

A friend sent me a text recently after I told her that I was about to hire a nutritionist. She told me that she was “proud” of me for my “determination” and my “ability to put [myself] first” as well as my “commitment to [myself].”

When I read that, the thing that stood out to me was the realization that tons of people put others first, thinking that it’s the right thing to do while never realizing that it actually limits their ability to do more for others.

We have to cater to ourselves and exhibit self-care through self-love, which is something I’ve referred to in the past as “targeted selfishness.” It is not only necessary, it’s mandatory.

You Should Be Your Top…

--

--

Deante L. Young

Personal Development Writer | Deante Unlimited podcast, Host | Deante: Under Construction web series, Star | Deante Young Enterprises, Chief Creative Architect