SPORTS LEGENDS

The Amazing Evolution of Mike Tyson

The once-controversial ex-boxer has surprisingly become a role model

Deante L. Young
5 min readMar 19, 2021

--

Tyson.
“Mike Tyson, a Man of the People” by shelbysdrummond is licensed under CC BY-ND 2.0

For many years, I observed Mike Tyson from afar, not really as a fan but I was definitely aware of his legendary status in the world of boxing. I had also known about the many controversies and transgressions in the man’s life, but still, I never paid him much attention.

Something changed in recent years with regard to my own perception of him, and I can now call myself a fan. This is because of the unbelievable life that he has lived, heavy in the spotlight the past 35 years, but everything that came before that shaped who he was in his prime, and maybe even more so now. Mike Tyson has greatly evolved as a man and a human being, and it is one of the most encouraging and inspiring metamorphoses that I have ever seen from anyone.

A Rough Childhood Led to Global Stardom

His story has been told a million times. The juvenile kid who was always in trouble as a youth ended up being adopted by a white family and then mentored by Cus D’Amato, one of the foremost figures in boxing in the middle of the 20th century.

D’Amato infused young Mike with unshakable self-confidence and belief that he could…

--

--

Deante L. Young

Personal Development Writer | Deante Unlimited podcast, Host | Deante: Under Construction web series, Star | Deante Young Enterprises, Chief Creative Architect